How to read the box and figure out your hair color levels

How To Read The Box & Figure Out Your Hair Color Levels

When you think of coloring your hair, what do you picture? Is it a drastic change for a new season, a slight touch-up, or is it time to cover those pesky grays? If you don’t know, that’s okay! We have plenty of resources to help you understand hair color levels and how to select the right one for you. 

Check out our last blog post here if you need some help with how to decide.  

Now that you have your perfect hair color in mind to express your individual style, how exactly are you going to achieve that look? 

Picking a hair color may seem a little more overwhelming than picking a lipstick shade or a nail polish color, but we’re here to help break it down! We have created a hair color chart to help make this process easier.  

But before we dive into the charts, let’s bring it back to the basics – like learning how to read the box! 

How to Read the Box  

On each Naturtint box, you’ll notice that there is a code (made up of a number and letter) that identifies each particular shade. But what exactly does that code mean?  

Well, simply put, the number refers to the shade’s color level and the letter represents the shade’s tone.  

Hair Color levels  

Now, let’s break down exactly what a color level is. Color levels refer to the degree of lightness or darkness a shade has, also known as depth. Color levels range from 1-10 with 1 being the darkest and 10 being the lightest.  

Within each color family (browns, blondes, coppers, blacks) there are dark, medium, and light levels. For example, you might say that you have brown hair. But, do you actually have dark brown hair, medium brown hair, or light brown hair?  

Levels 1 and 2 include the darkest black colors. Levels 3 – 4 are the darkest browns, level 5 is a medium brown, and levels 6 & 7 are considered light brown. Level 8 is a medium blonde, while levels 9 & 10 are the lightest blonde colors.  

In order to find the right color level for you, you’ll want to start by identifying your current hair color, or level, if your hair is already color treated.  

Keep in mind that you can always go as dark as you want in a single treatment, but you can only lighten by one or two levels at a time.  

Hair Color Tones  

While color levels refer to the depth of color, the tone refers to the warmth or coolness of the shade.  

As you probably already know, there are different tones that are associated with each color. Think about the colors you associate with fall and spring.  

Fall is full of reds, oranges, and yellows – which are all warm tones.  

On the other hand, spring is full of blues, greens, and violets – which are cool tones.  

Tones that fall in the middle of warm and cool are called neutral tones. These typically have a balance of both warm and cool pigments.  

But what does this have to do with hair color?  

There are a range of hair color tones – we have seven to be exact. These tones vary from brand to brand, our tones range from Natural to Chocolate.  

  • Natural (N) 
  • Golden (G)  
  • Copper (C) 
  • Red (R) 
  • Ash (A)  
  • Mahogany (M)  
  • Chocolate (GM) 

Related: What is the Best Hair Color for Me

Understanding your hair’s ideal tone will help you to achieve your desired look.  

Mixing it all Together  

Now that you’ve got a better understand of all those numbers and letters, you no longer have to solely rely on the picture on the box to pick the right hair color! You can use the number and letter combination to confidently choose that perfect hair color you’re going for!  

Whether you’re looking to darken up your locks, cover up grays, or gradually go lighter over time, you’re now equipped with the knowledge to figure out your hair color levels and get the most out of your Naturtint Permanent Hair Color

Back to blog


1 of 10